Cloud_atlas

I finished reading the book ‘Cloud Atlas’ by David Mitchell. I must say, it was one heck of a journey across different periods in time and space. I loved the six stories and the way the author writes them keeping that period of time in mind. Moreover it is the interconnecting link that joins these different stories that makes for a exciting read. Once you start the book, knowing the basic premise, you start hunting for the links between each story. My favorite of the six is the ‘Orison of Sonmi’. Being a fan of the science fiction genre, I particularly like the way the author describes the dystopian future of the world through the eyes of an enlightened clone. The interview format of the story telling also helps, answering some of the basic question that pop up in the reader’s mind. I also love how each story stops abruptly and continues in a symmetric fashion. It feels like the author built the sequence of stories in a rising and falling pattern. I haven’t given much thought on the deeper aspects that underline the different stories and the overarching philosophy that binds them together as this is my first read (I usually tend to go through a book three times- The first time to understand the the structure of the story and the characters, the second time to understand the meaning behind the story and the final read is to solidify certain situations/dialogue/monologue I found interesting). I haven’t watched the movie adaptation of this novel yet, although I have heard good things about it. As any reader knows, seeing your imaginings of the various characters in flesh and blood is a thrill by itself. Also I am curious to know how the directors of the film (The famed Wachowski siblings and Tom Tykwer) pruned the epic storyline into a 2 or 3 hour run time. Anyway, I am looking forward to reading more of David Mitchell’s works!

Rating – 4.5/5

(I am currently reading Kazuo Ishiguro’s ‘When we were orphans’ and so far its a little slow, but I’m hoping it picks up the pace soon)

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Cloud Atlas

Leave a Reply

